So Alexa and I, woke up had our morning tea/coffee, I made pancakes, got ready for our day, and she told me about how she had a dream about this huge spider that freaked her out.  Just last night I was outside on our porch and was sipping from my Diet Crack(Coke) and this spider was dangling from a string of web right in front of me.  Her reflection of her dream got me thinking.  Now, my ego drives me to be this big bad tough guy, who will claim all day and all night that I am fearless.  But there’s just something about certain little creatures, and plausible scenarios that just makes people’s skin crawl.

Little Girl?!

Little Girl?!

I have jumped out of helicopters into the ocean, been skydiving, had guns pointed at me more than once, and that doesn’t phase me. But a little creature that’s the size of your thumbnail?  Now, getting away from that, take the metaphorical fears. Like that at any moment I can be driving down the highway and I get slammed by a drunk driver, and I never see my wife again(that is more terrifying than anything with legs on God’s green Earth).  therefore, in case I die on the way home….I love you Dear! I was born and raised Catholic, and still practice today.  Now we exhibit two types of fears.  One is beneficial in terms of our faith, we fear God, but in reverence not in the knee-shaking anathema sense. The second, is detrimental in that it is something to be overcome; and in that sense is also beneficial, but indirectly. And I can take from Psalm 111:10, that fears lead to wisdom and good understanding, and I cannot revolt wisdom and discipline. When I have something that really just freaks me out or petrifies me, I just keep facing and confronting it. bit by bit, the fear dissipates.

Quote of the day: “Diplomacy is the art of sayin ‘Nice Doggie’ until you can find a rock.”

Will Rogers